Review: Gajardoni Challenge Jacket 800N

Marketplace and reviews. Open to public view.

Review: Gajardoni Challenge Jacket 800N

Postby Yeknodathon » 27 Dec 2016 16:02

Firstly, I am a beginner so have little knowledge of other jackets, other than those I spot in a club setting.

However, I am an everyday motorcyclist so used to assessing protective kit for comfort and performance, but not in a fencing environment!

To be honest, looking at common jackets before choosing I wasn't too impressed. Yes, they seemed to function and I wasn't hearing many adverse comments but they didn't seem to be too robust or be standing up too well. So I wanted to choose well based on YouTube videos and other reviews and opinions.

The Gajardoni appealed immediately. An irrational thing, but it just seemed right for me so I took the plunge.

I chose the custom made option as I wanted to get the best fit and add a bit to the length to avoid undue lifting with raised arms. Although Gajardoni were a bit slow to respond after the order (I caught them in holiday; tip, please Gajardoni, wee messgae on website?) once they were ready the service to guide me through measuring and, yes, re-measuring and advice and help was extremely pleasant, responsive and thorough.

On receipt, first impressions were good. Before even trying it on, it just looked well made. On first wearing and a few practice moves, just nothing to say. And this is my greatest praise, once on, it does not feel on - I forget it. It does not feel bulky even with all the protective bits or cramp or chafe or get in the way.. Its rather like a skin.