Dussack techniques in a saber tournament?

The practice of martial arts, research, interpretation and modern practice. Ancient to c.1900. Worldwide, Eastern and Western.
Open to public view.

Dussack techniques in a saber tournament?

Postby Gamespy10 » 30 Mar 2016 10:32

Hi I'm relatively new to hema just comeing up to the end of my 1st year of training primarily training itallian longsword and meyers dussack. I want to start entering tournaments by the end of my second year however in the UK there dosent seem to be any tournaments for dussack.

My question is could I use dussack techniques in a sabre tournament and would this be aceptable. I'm nervouse that this may be frowned upon as i have seen many posts about bad technique at tournaments. I wad thinking about starting in the synthetics tournament at fight camp next year. Any advice would be greatly apreciated thanks.
Gamespy10
Cadet

Re: Dussack techniques in a saber tournament?

Postby MEversbergII » 30 Mar 2016 13:28

I don't see why not. There are some differences in the weapon, but a lot of translation should be there. Definitely buy a competition grade weapon and practice with it, though, since the weapon will have differences in reach and timing at least. As for bad technique: so long as it doesn't get you out of the tournament, it's good technique.

M.
When I was a fighting-man, the kettle-drums they beat,
The people scattered gold-dust before my horses feet;
But now I am a great king, the people hound my track
With poison in my wine-cup, and daggers at my back.

Best Advice on the Whole Site
MEversbergII
Major

Postby Gamespy10 » 30 Mar 2016 23:30

Thanks for your answer. Thats what I was hoping to hear really, would anybody be able to suggest a site that sells good competition grade sabres?
Gamespy10
Cadet

Postby MEversbergII » 31 Mar 2016 00:38